top of page
Search
Writer's picturecebuanamermaid

Post-Graduation Work Permit Application

Updated: Feb 22, 2019

I already got a full time job before graduation. My internship required for my Information Technology Business Analysis program is just 7 weeks but the company I applied gave me 4 months contract. Full time offer is pending until my internship contract is finished and I have a valid work permit. Because of this, I want to secure my Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) as soon as I can.


A PGWP is an open work permit which means that you can work for any employer in any province you would want. You must apply for a post-graduation work permit within 90 days of receiving written confirmation from your educational institution that you have met the requirements for completing your academic program. (Update Feb 14, 2019: International graduates of eligible Canadian schools now have 180 days to apply for a PGWP.) The length of the PGWP that will be given will depend on the duration of your program in Canada. If you study full-time for one year, your PGWP will also be one year. If you study 2 years (full-time), you will be given 3 years PGWP. That is why it is ideal to study for 2 years so you will have enough points and time to apply for Permanent Residency. In my case, I didn't really have that choice since I don't have enough money to sustain myself for another year. So I just took the risk and took a 1 year program. By the way, the length of the program is referring to academic year and not calendar year. So my 1 year program is technically just 10 months (base on calendar year), but it is a one academic year program. More details of Post-Graduation Work Permit can be found in this link.


Two days after my graduation, June 22, 2018, I submitted my online application for my PGWP. These are the documents that I submitted online:


1. Form IMM5710 (Application Form) - this can be found/downloaded in the official Canada Immigration website.

2. Scanned Proof of Program Completion - I attached my Final Transcript of Records and my Graduate Certificate from NBCC

3. Scanned Passport - Bio page and the Canada Visa stamp

4. Scanned Study Permit

5. Digital Photo - you can go to Walmart, Shoppers or Jean Coutu shops to have your photo taken

6. Client Information or Letter of Explanation - this is optional but I submitted this to give more context of my application


*Note: If you intend on working in healthcare or childcare, a proof of medical may be required. I suggest to always check CIC website for updates.


Total cost for Post-Graduation Work Permit is $255 and average processing time during my application was 53 days. I received my PGWP approval notification exactly on the 53rd day of my application, August 13, 2018. I received the actual/hard copy of my Work Permit in my mail after 2 days.



I was expecting that my work permit will only be up to June 2019 since I finished my program on June 2018. But I got up to December 12, 2019.

Here are the links of my references and guide when I processed my Post-Graduation Work Permit:

https://www.uwinnipeg.ca/student/intl/docs/immigration/pgwp.pdf


https://students.ubc.ca/career/career-resources/working-canada/post-graduation-work-permit/tutorial-apply-post-graduation-work-permit-within-canada-overview


After I received my PGWP, I renewed my SIN and my Medicare Health Card. The validity of these 2 were dependent on the validity of my study permit. Now that I have my PGWP, they have been extended and their validity is now depending on my PGWP. Details on where to get this is in my previous post.




898 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentários


cebuanamermaid
cebuanamermaid
09 de mar. de 2019

Yes, generally 1 year program is equals to 1 year PGWP. But as I captioned in my PGWP document picture here, it wasn't a strict 1 year on mine. Graduated June 2018, PGWP expiry December 2019.

For part time work, there are many available survival jobs here. I also made a post about this. :)

Curtir

kendz_shelou
09 de mar. de 2019

Hi, I saw that you have taken IT - Business Analysis program at NBCC, the program duration is only for a year, right? So, the PGWP for 1 year program is also 1 year. During your PGWP, did you find it hard to look for a job?

Curtir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page