top of page
Search
Writer's picturecebuanamermaid

Is it Worth it?

The thought of going out from our comfort zones in the pursuit of the unknown is indeed scary. Leaving the comfort of home, our stable job/life, our family and friends. That's why we tend to reach out to people who are already here in Canada to ask if it is worth it. I did that too before I came here. I joined this Facebook group page for Filipinos who are planning to study in Canada. This group page helped me with my application process since lots of information are posted there. I did not have to do a lot of google search anymore. In that group page, I looked for members who were successful in their student application and who are already pursuing their studies in Canada. I reached out to them to give myself a guarantee that leaving everything behind and coming to Canada is a good decision. Now I understand why almost all of them didn't reply. I learned different people will have different experiences in Canada and even if they have similar experiences, they will react differently to it. For me, I can say after all the hardships and struggles, it was worth it. But I am not saying that this is applicable to all. It is really up to you to decide and make your journey here worth it or not.


I was so scared too before coming here because I was all alone physically and financially and I don't know anyone in Canada who I can call for help in case everything don't go according to my plans. When I arrived here in Moncton, New Brunswick, I was blessed to meet very helpful people who became my true friends. I struggled but I already expected that before I came here. I worked part-time in a pizza restaurant and then in a homecare. These type of jobs are not easy specially if you have a professional job in your home country because you are not used to doing manual labor and your pride would be your enemy. But that is just how it is here. And people here don't really care what your job is as long as it is legal. The important thing is, you're earning in order to survive here. I self-pity on the first few weeks. After that, I tried to enjoy my new experiences here and I became happier.


Bottom line, going out of comfort zones to pursue a dream takes a lot of courage. Some may struggle, some may not. And if we ever struggle, each of us will experience it differently and react to it differently. In the end, it is us who can decide and make our struggle and sacrifices worth it or not.



test
"Dandelion symbolizes the ability to rise above life’s challenges". Picture taken at the Centennial Park on September 17, 2017

497 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page